What to read after “The Hunger Games”

Posted on April 18, 2012. Filed under: Fiction | Tags: , , , , |

Have the books of Suzanne Collins leave you Hungry for more? The Oakton Community College Library won’t play Games with you. Our Staff has assembled a list of young adult books with a science fiction or fantasy themes that are popular with all age groups. Each book selected is also the first in a series.

book cover for Ender's GameEnder’s Game
(Book 1: Ender series)
by Orson Scott Card

Ender Wiggins is a child prodigy. He is taken from his family at the age of six to enter a Government controlled training program to fight an expected alien invasion. At first he doesn’t fit in with the other trainees. But as the war games progress, despite the efforts of his superiors to isolate him, Ender develops a type of camaraderie with some of his fellow students.  Yet he still has to deal with the psychological impact of being a leader in a war he doesn’t fully understand. The novel won the Nebula Award for best novel in 1985, and the Hugo Award for best novel in 1986.

book cover for The Golden CompassThe Golden Compass
(Book 1: His Dark Materials series)
by Phillip Pullman

This is the story of Lyra Belacqua, an orphan who lives at Oxford’s Jordan College. In this world, everyone’s soul is outwardly manifested as an animal. One of the plots involves children being kidnapped and their soul animals being destroyed.

Lyra’s adventure begins when her fearsome uncle, Lord Asriel, appears with evidence of mystery and danger in the far North, including photographs of a mysterious celestial phenomenon called Dust and the dim outline of a city suspended in the Aurora Borealis that he suspects is part of an alternate universe. Considering the series is about the search for the truth its ironic the book is often found on Banned Books lists.

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone
(Book 1: Harry Potter Series)
by J.K. Rowlings

This series is about Harry Potter and his wizard friends’ adventures in school. Here they learn to play Quidditch, a game which is sort of like La Crosse on flying broomsticks. Harry is the center of all kinds of magical mysteries which culminates in the seventh book, Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows. Coincidentally, Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone can also be found on Banned Books lists.

book cover for White Mountains

The White Mountains
(Book 1: Tripods series)
by John Christopher

In the near future, the human race has been subjugated by an Alien race known as The Tripods. Upon everyone’s 14th birthday, they are fitted with a “cap” which eliminates such undesirable thoughts like curiosity and keeps people docile. Culture never develops and no one questions the Tripods. When Willie Parker is fitted with his cap, it does not work. Some of his friends follow him in his search for rumored rebels while others serve the Tripods. This book was adapted into a TV series by the BBC in 1984.

book cover for A Wrinkle in TimeA Wrinkle in Time
(Book 1: Time Quintet series)
by Madeleine L’Engle

A Wrinkle in Time is the story of Meg Murry, a high-school-aged girl who is transported on an adventure through time and space with her younger brother Charles Wallace and her friend Calvin O’Keefe to rescue her father, a gifted scientist, from the evil forces that hold him prisoner on another planet. A Wrinkle in Time can also be found on several Banned Books lists.

-posted by Kevin Purtell

Advertisements

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

2 Responses to “What to read after “The Hunger Games””

RSS Feed for What's On My Nightstand? Comments RSS Feed

what about I Am Alive by Cameron Jace?

Like

Great suggestion! I also like Divergent by Veronica Roth.

Like


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Oakton Community College Library’s Blog

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Oakton on Twitter

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

%d bloggers like this: